Rock Star Students Shine in Awards Ceremony

“The difference between a successful person and others is not a lack of strength, not a lack of knowledge, but rather a lack of will.” ~Vince Lombardi

Globe University-Madison East celebrates students’ accomplishments with the campus’s Student Awards Ceremony.  The students recognized have worked hard and have exceeded expectations both inside and outside the classroom. Award winners were nominated by students, faculty and staff. Distinguished attorney and community member Krystal Williams-Oby gave an inspiring keynote speech.

massage therapy awards

Massage therapy award winners Amy Lang, Brett Kammerer, David Van Schyndel, and Nicole Wilde pose with instructors Robin Rinehart and Laura Jeske.

Service Learning Project of the Year

Gabe Neely presented the Service Learning Project of the Year saying, “Service learning is an important, integral part of the curriculum in every degree program at Globe University. Students take what they’ve learned in the classroom and apply it in a meaningful way to projects that help our community.  It’s a hands-on, engaging approach to learning, and a great way for Globe and its students to give back to the community.”

The Service Learning Project of the Year Award was presented to April Grimsled’s Winter 2013 Microbiology and Urinalysis class—part of the medical assistant program—for a safe food handling brochure they created for the Goodman Community Center’s food pantry.

Creative Quill Award

Each year, Globe University publishes the “Creative Quill,” a literary journal featuring students’ poetry, lyrics, fiction, drama, and creative non-fiction.  This year, two Madison East students were published in the Quill. Elizabeth Gillitzer’s poem, “Unexceptional,” ponders what makes a person unique, and Andrew Zabawa’s poem, “Message of Hope,” memorializes the students who lost their lives in the Sandy Hook tragedy.

Rising Star Awards

The Rising Star Award recognizes new Globe University students who have done outstanding work both inside the classroom and out.  The six students who won the award have only been in school a few quarters, but they have already demonstrated leadership, initiative, dedication and excellence in their fields of study. Dean of Students Krista Hebel said, “We know these students will continue to shine as they progress through their programs.”

Below is a full list of the Student Award winners.

criminal justice

Criminal justice Stand-Out Student Award winner Katelyn Sopha with criminal justice program chair Wayne Strong.

Award Winners

  • Service Learning Project of the Year Award Winner: April Grimseld’s Winter 2013 Microbiology & Urinalysis class. Class members awarded included: Sarah Boyd, Claudia Conradson, Lucinda Harris, Lee Kaltenberg, Brittney Lewis, Heather McLoud, Treva Rheese, and Helen Williams.
  • Club Activity of the Year Award Winner: Vet Tech Club’s Pet Fair
  • Community Service Scholarship Award Winners: Michele Johnson and Robyn Ophime
  • Creative Quill Award Winners: Elizabeth Gillitzer and Andrew Zabawa
  • Rising Star Award Winners:
    • Bambi Dolphin – Criminal Justice Progam
    • Dan Coy – Information Technology Program
    • Nicole Wild – Massage Therapy Program
    • Kathryn Anderson – Medical Assistant Program
    • Julie Roberts – Paralegal Program
    • Marie O’Dell – Veterinary Technology Program
  • Alumni of the Year Award Winner: Brett Kammerer
veterinary technology

Veterinary technology student Cheri Wierichs shakes campus director Rocky Klitzke’s hand as he presents her with the Student of the Year Award.

  • Stand-Out Student Award Winners by Program:
    • Accounting: Geymayne Williams
    • Business: Patrick Hiebing
    • Criminal Justice: Katelyn Sopha
    • Health Care Management: Cody Bates
    • Information Technology: Scott Zautke
    • Interactive Graphic and Design: Anthony Derrick
    • Massage Therapy: Amy Lang
    • Medical Assistant: Michelle Hallada
    • Medical Administrative Assistant: Shawn Terry
    • Music Business: Elliot Christensen
    • Paralegal: Corrine Dockter
    • Veterinary Technology: Nicole Hallstead
  • Students of the Year Award Winners: David VanSchyndel, Cheri Wierichs, Amanda Jones

Congratulations to all of the winners and those nominated! Keep up the amazing work and continue to shine. Below is the video of Krystal Williams-Oby’s keynote address for those who were unable to attend.